Insurgent

Story by: Tess Barnett
Photo by: Mackenzie Carpenter

Insurgent

The latest installment in the “Divergent” series has finally hit movie theaters. I had the pleasure of viewing it on opening night and it was an excellent way to spend my evening.

The trailer was action-packed and obviously meant to attract an audience that had not read the book. Although I was originally drawn to the series through the books, I appreciated that the films have sought to attract those who are not avid readers.

“Insurgent” follows the struggles that Tris and the other divergents face after Erudite leader, Jeanine Matthews, goes public with her plan to eliminate all Divergent from society.

I was drawn into the danger that Tris and her companions faced as they fought against the Erudite. The movie is full of surprising twists and turns, and there are many times when I was on the edge of my seat, wondering if this is the end of Tris Prior.

Director Robert Schwentke did an excellent job of keeping my friend and I engaged, and was true to the book. There was never a dull moment. When the action stopped, the romance began, which gave the audience insight into the personal lives of our beloved characters.

Shailene Woodley, who portrayed the rebellious heroine Tris, wowed be once again, just as she had in “Divergent” and “The Fault in Our Stars,” which came out last June.

I look forward to the final movie of the trilogy, “Allegiant,” and I am sure that it will not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

