A Lagoon adventure

Story by: Claire Dorsch
Photos by: Claire Dorsch

Lagoon swings

Lagoon Amusement Park is located in Farmington, Utah, which I had the opportunity to visit during fall break vacation while visiting family. My group consisted of my mother, her cousins Katie and Brooke, Katie’s son Mason, and my little brothers. With an arsenal of food courtesy of a necessary trip to Costco, we made or way through the crowd, deposited our food and jackets in an unattended corner, and went on some rides.

My favorite ride was Cannibal, a 22 million dollar roller coaster that reaches 70 miles per hour. The best way to ride was to get in the singles line, which was conveniently empty, and park my butt in an open seat.

At first I was scared, because getting on I was close to the ground, but where the ride actually began was several stories inside a large brown building. Little did I know that there was a giant elevator that actually took us up the entire 208 foot tower and precariously placed us on the edge. At this point, the family of three next to me was subject to my babbling about calling CPS on my mother, who had convinced me to go on the ride in the first place.

It was comparable to the Diamondback in King’s Island, which is located in Mason, Ohio, but not the kind of scary that gave me dry mouth like the Diamondback does for me.

My next favorite ride was Samurai, a red and black terror that plays the Fruit Ninja background music as I and 29 other rides spin for ninety seconds, that on Lagoon’s website, is described to be extreme yet smooth and thrilling. Each radial arm of the ride freely rotates, so one second I was sitting upright, and the next I was upside down and being knocked around like a penny in the clothes dryer. Eating before getting on this ride was not a smart decision on my part, but in all my stomach stayed relatively indifferent to the centrifugal force whipping me around for all to see.

Roller Coaster, the oldest ride in the park, reminded me of the Beast which is also in King’s Island. I love wooden roller coasters because they make me wonder how people were scared of them back when they were first being built, because they are relatively tame compared to today’s thrill rides.

Lagoon big bookThe whole day was a great experience, and I was glad to get a chance to reconnect with my family from Utah who I see almost never. If anyone were to travel to Salt Lake City and want a place to hang out with friends have have a day to let out the inner adrenaline junky inside like I did, this would be the place to be.

Lagoon octopus

Leave a Reply

