They’re creepy and they’re kooky

Story by: Baylie Clevenger, Managing Editor
Photos provided by Samantha Russell

Samantha #5

It is no secret that within the walls of MVHS are many talented students. Whether it be musically, athletically, or theatrically, there is no shortage of gifted students.

For one MV student, her talent has taken her to professional theater.

Samantha #2This student is Samantha Russell, she does performances with Beef & Boards, a dinner theatre in Indianapolis. Currently they are working on the production of “The Addams Family.”
Russell was also very kind as to do a Q&A with the MV Current

Q: What is the best part about being involved in professional theater?

A: I think the best part is the people I get to work with and all of the knowledge I’m receiving from them about the business and life.

Q:  How do you feel it differs from high school productions?

A: Much faster and everyone is more prepared before we start rehearsals.

Q:  How long have you been performing in theater?

A: I performed in school productions off and on since preschool and I started performing outside of school the summer before my freshman year and ever since.

Q: How do you feel about your Beef & Boards experience?

A: “Everyone has been so welcoming and eager to help me succeed 🙂 I love it so much! “

Q:  Do you feel like this is something you’re going to do for the rest of your life?

A: Heck yes!

Q: Where do you see yourself in 10 years as far as theater goes?

A: I could say where I hope to be haha. My career path is so unpredictable that I’m not quite sure where I’ll be. I do see that I’ll have completed college and started auditioning, but I’m not quite sure what the rest will be or where life will take me.

Q:  What is your favorite show you have performed in so far? Why?Samantha Russell

A: “The Addams Family” because it’s such a fun show and I love playing Wednesday because she is the complete opposite to me.

Q:  What is the most important part of performing professionally?

A: Being directable and being pleasant to work with.

Q:  Do school and performances get in the way of one another? How do you handle the two at once?

A: They do conflict with each other but the thing that has really helped me is staying organized. I’m very conscious of my school work because I have to make sure that I keep my grades up since I’m currently applying for colleges.

Samantha #3Q:  Are there any other comments you have about professional theater or anything you want people to know about it?

A: Yes 🙂 to my fellow performers, don’t be afraid to audition for professional theaters because you never know what will happen. I just went to the audition just to get more audition experience and look what happened! For the non-theatre people, get out there and watch some shows! There are some amazing shows and you don’t want to miss out! I know Beef & Boards has a great season coming up so you should definitely check it out.

Samantha #4

Leave a Reply

