Andrew Roembke takes to state

Story by: Claire Dorsch, Features Editor
Photos by: Caty McGovern, staff photographer

Andrew

Mt. Vernon has an ever-growing music department and has achieved much in the past few years. Just recently a member of the MV Jazz Band, Andrew Roembke, 10, has been chosen to be a member of Indiana’s All-District Jazz Band and All-State Jazz Band. The MV Current was able to meet up with Andrew and ask him a couple questions about it.

Q) What are the All-District and All-State Jazz Band?

A) All-State Jazz Band is sort of like a “dream team.” Instrumentalists from all around the state all send in an audio recording of audition music. They then send those recordings to a selection committee that then decides who is going to be in, and who isn’t.

Q) How common is it for a sophomore to be accepted into these bands?

A) I do not know how common it is for a sophomore to make it, but I do know that only four trumpets in the whole state made it, and there were about 350 applicants. I will most likely be surrounded by all seniors, maybe a couple juniors.

Q) What is the application process?

A) The first thing you have to do is send in a written application with an audition fee. You basically just submit a form with your name, instrument, school, grade, the basic stuff for an application like this. Then you have to prepare the audition. You go online to get the PDF files from the website, print them off, and start practicing. There were 7 total excerpts that I had to play. Once you feel that you are ready for the audition, get a recording device and record you playing the excerpts. You then send that in and you wait for them to make contact with you on whether you made it or not

Q) How long have you been playing the trumpet?

A) I have been playing the trumpet since 5th grade, so about 5 and a half years. In 6th grade though, I played French horn for concert band. However, I enjoyed trumpet more, and in 7th grade I switched back to trumpet and never looked back

Q) What does this mean for your future in music? Do you plan to pursue a career in music?

A) This could actually mean a lot for my future. There will be many college recruiters at the concert for this, and them seeing a sophomore could definitely stand out. I for sure want to keep playing trumpet throughout college, but I’m not sure if I want to make a career in music.

Q) Do you know any of the other trumpet players selected to be in these bands? What grades are they in?

A) I looked at the list of accepted people in the bands and did not recognize. I did notice that they were all from some of the best schools in the state though, such as Bloomington North, Carmel, and Ben Davis.

Q) Are you nervous about being surrounded with other very talented musicians?

A) I’m not really nervous about being around other musicians. I’m more excited that I get to perform high level music that will challenge me and push me to my limit.

Leave a Reply

