Wonderful winter flavors

Story by: Caty McGovern, Staff Writer
Photos by: Caty McGovern, Staff Writer

starbucks

When winter and the holiday season comes around, many places start using all the elated holiday seasonal feelings to market seasonal drinks. Many of these drinks are based off holiday favorites like peppermint candy canes, gingerbread and chestnuts. The flavors often come in hot latte form such as the peppermint mocha latte, gingerbread latte, and chestnut praline latte. These are some of the flavors the popular coffee franchise Starbucks has. I found similar flavors at the school coffee shop, Coffee Connection.

My question is: How do all these flavors taste from coffee shop to coffee shop?

When I tried these flavors, there were both hits and misses. I started with peppermint mocha latte. I enjoyed the Starbucks drink over Coffee Connection’s, as the Starbucks drink had the delicious peppermint flavor I expected. Now, mocha wise, Coffee Connection nailed the chocolate to coffee flavor ratio. Yet, overall, Starbucks has the better of the two peppermint mochas.

The next drink I tried was the gingerbread latte. In the Coffee Connection drink, I could actually taste the ginger, but it was rather strong for my taste. The Starbucks gingerbread latte was outright disappointing, as it had zero ginger flavor and was just nauseatingly sweet. If I had to recommend this drink to anyone, I would say to go to Coffee Connection as they will not disappoint ginger-wise.

The next flavor I tried was the chestnut praline latte. It is also known by the simpler name, coffee connectiontoffee nut latte, as both are made with toffee nut syrup. I preferred Coffee Connection’s toffee nut latte over Starbucks’ similar drink, the chestnut praline latte. The reasoning behind my decision is that the toffee nut latte has the nutty taste that one might expect when hearing any type of tree nut in the name of a drink. It also had an undertone of caramel that caused the drink to be great.

I think each coffee shop had their strengths and weaknesses. Neither shop was an obvious winner since both had lackluster moments.

Leave a Reply

