Lifeline app will give you a lifeline to fun

Story by: Claire Dorsch, Features Editor
Photo by: Claire Dorsch, Features Editor

Lifeline

When I first heard of this game, Lifeline, I thought of the movie “The Martian” with Matt Damon stuck on Mars. I was very wrong.

The game starts out with an astronaut messaging you from the wreckage of their spaceship, the Varia, and in need of help. Let me just say that I was a goner by this point, there is no not finishing this game. This gender-nonspecific, sarcastic, and lovingly sassy character tries to find a way to survive on this moon near Tau Ceti. Whenever Cadet Taylor asks you a question, the game gives you two options to choose from, which makes you think a lot about your decisions, because remember, Taylor can die because of your choices.

This incredible game was the reason for my first panic attack, and for people near the end of the game, they know the reason for it. During the whole game, I was hooked to the story. It’s entirely told from Taylor’s point of view, which can get annoying, especially when I think of the hours they have left me alone with the “[Taylor is busy]” message on the screen and the many times they have passed out or lost signal with their last words being”OH MY GOD,” which is a lot.

I love that Taylor doesn’t use pronouns, so Taylor could be blonde white dude with really bad decision-making skills or an Asian-American women with long blue hair. The character’s physical appearance is totally up to the player. Thank you Dave Justus. You are a fantastic writer for doing that.

The game also goes by real time, so if Taylor says they are eating breakfast, Taylor will literally take a half hour to be done eating, and Taylor sleeping will surely take hours.

I recommend this app to people who are not faint of heart or have free time to spare, because this game had me sneaking my phone out in the middle of class to see what Taylor was up to at that point in time, and I can’t wait to purchase the sequel game “Silent Night.”

I became very attached to Taylor during this game. I felt personally responsible for Taylor’s life, which kinda sucked because I killed them the first day I started playing.

Please, play this game. It will make you cry and want to fling yourself off a cliff. But in a good way.

Leave a Reply

