The Force Awakens lots of theories

Story and Photos by: Dakota Fisher, Sports Editor.

Star Wars.jpg

With a booming franchise such as “Star Wars,” fan theories run amok and since the release of Episode VII, minds of fans, myself alike, have many theories.

My Theory

While I am not necessarily a “Star Wars” expert, I have seen all seven movies far more times than I would like to admit. What I will admit is that after the first time seeing “The Force Awakens” my mind was reeling, so naturally I saw it three more times and solidified my very own fan theory.

My theory is more of a combination of several different theories with a little twist of my own. I think that yes, Rey is Luke’s daughter, and here is why: When we, the audience, are shown Rey being left on Jakku in a flashback, she is wearing the traditional clothing of a Jedi Warrior. I believe that after Rey was born, she was enrolled in the New Jedi training that her father, Luke, created. Rey’s force abilities are so strong, there is absolutely no way that they just developed with no prior training.

It is also probable that Rey and Kylo Ren knew/know each other. Han tells the audience that Ren, his son, was part of the New Jedi and that he lashed out and murdered all of the padawans, resulting in the end of Luke’s New Jedi and pushed Luke into seclusion. It is my belief that In the midst of Kylo murdering everyone, Luke saved his daughter by putting her on a ship, wiping her memory, and sending her somewhere she could not be found.

In the battle between Kylo Ren and Rey, there were many opportunities for Ren to kill Rey but he did not, leading me to believe that he a) knows Rey and thinks she is the one who is supposed to restore balance to the force, much like how Anakin was supposed to restore balance to the force, which sure worked out well for him, and b) knew that if he killed Rey, the revolution would die.

Now, you may be asking, “But why would the bad guy want the good guy to live?” and the answer is actually not as confusing as it may seem. Kylo Ren is a bad guy. There is no denying that fact, but I think there is a reason. I think that Ren is playing an angle and trying to take down the first order, much like Anakin was playing both sides, working with Palpatine and the Jedi council, I think Ren is doing the same thing, just on a much larger scale.

“I know what I have to do; I just don’t have the strength to do it,” Ren told his father before that most fateful death of the fearless Han Solo.

I think that was true, but I do not think Kylo killed his father. I think Han pressed the button on Kylo’s saber (sword?) and killed himself.

“But why would he do that?” you may also be asking, but again, I can totally justify your speculation.

I think everyone knew that the only way to take down the First Order was to do so from within and since Ren had a call toward the Dark side, who better to do it? But as we can all see, that backfired. I think Ren wants to be a good person but he cannot because the call from the Dark side is so strong. He knows what he has to do and knows that he has to take down the First Order, but not only does he have to do so in secret, he also has to maintain his bad guy facade. I think Han killed himself because it was what Kylo had to do to prove his loyalty to the First Order.

I am sure there are a million holes in my theory and there is no way I am completely right, but I have a lot of faith in my theory (and the force) and I cannot wait so see what Episode VIII brings.

Star Wars 2Other popular internet theories:

Rey is Luke’s Daughter.

Possibly the most common, Star Wars fans have had a field day with this theory. Many people speculate that she is the daughter of Jedi master, Luke Skywalker, and believe that he fell in love with someone after the “Return of the Jedi.” There are also very obvious parallels between the storyline of Rey and Luke. Both were abandoned on a planet without their parents, both are led by droids to serve a higher cause, and most importantly, both are one with the force. Many argue that it is impossible for Luke to have had a child, but is it really? While it is against the Jedi code to have a family of any kind, Anakin married and had children with Padme Amidala,though we see how well that worked out, so there is defiantely a possibility that after “Return of the Jedi,” Luke Skywalker finally settled down.

Rey is Han and Leia’s Daughter.

While possible, this theory is one I’ve had some trouble grasping. Though Leia is the daughter of a Jedi- turned Sith-master, there is no way the force would be that strong in the offspring of a non-Jedi, making it hard to fathom Rey being her daughter. Not to mention, if she was her mother, then where was the motherly affection? Not once do Han or Leia show any sort of affection towards Rey apart from the ending when Leia hugs Rey after her return from StarKiller Base. If they were mother and daughter, wouldn’t Leia and Han have been far more excited to see their only daughter after so many years?

Leave a Reply

