Star Wars: The review

Story by: Dakota Fisher, Sports Editor
Photo by: Dakota Fisher, Sports Editor

Star Wars 2

Long ago in a galaxy far, far away, the new “Star Wars” movie, absolutely blew me, and millions of other people, away. Earning almost 300 million dollars on opening night, “The Force Awakens” now holds the title for highest grossing film ever, beating “Avatar” (2009) and “Titanic” (1997).

When I was about seven years old, I had a huge crush on Hayden Christensen’s character Anakin. I was totally in love with him and, admittedly had a huge poster on my  wall, next to my “High School Musical” poster. Naturally, I had very, very high expectations for “The Force Awakens” and needless to say, I was not disappointed.

My favorite character in the movie, by far, is Kylo Ren. Though I may be a bit biased because I am absolutely in love with Adam Driver, I still have a certain draw toward Kylo. Critics seem to think he is a weak and whiny character and while they’re not entirely wrong, I also see a sort of complexity in him. He may be a bad guy, but he also feels pain and hurt and longing, and I feel as though Driver nailed it.

Rey, played by Daisy Ridley, was absolutely brilliant, and no, I don’t have some secret love for her. Although, after this movie I can guarantee her face will be one I won’t forget. She gave such an amazing and convincing performance as Rey and her rawness really added to the whole movie. I truthfully cannot wait to see more from the 23 year old in years to come.

Though there were a few minimal inconsistencies and given conveniences within the plot, overall, it was a pretty solid. The idea behind and the thought that went into character development and plot development was certainly worth the over 30 year wait between movies.

My favorite part of the movie overall, other than BB-8 who was an absolute pleasure, was most definitely the return of the great Han Solo, played by Harrison Ford. Having a character of such legendary prowess come back and bring such a classic feel to the movie was so welcoming and honestly made me feel like I was watching one of the originals.

“The Force Awakens” was truly cinematic gold and I can not wait to see what Episode VIII has to offer.

Leave a Reply

