“Hardcore Henry” is hardcore

Story by: Blake Slunaker, staff writer

The movie “Hardcore Henry,” released on April 8,  is an action movie thriller that uses new GoPro technology to shoot it in first-person point-of-view.

The runtime of the movie is about 95 minutes long and I was intrigued every minute of it. I would not say that I exactly enjoyed every minute, but it definitely kept my interest and was very thrilling.

I enjoyed the first-person view as it gave a fresh and interesting angle for an action movie that made me feel like they were right there doing the action.

However, the only problem with the first-person style shooting is it made the movie feel like every action video game ever made. I feel like the movie only kept my attention because of the way it was shot. The story was very cliché and uninspiring. It had the typical bad guys that Henry was able to slash through no problem and it just did not feel real to me.

The lack of dialogue in the movie made it very hard to follow as well making whatever type of story they were aiming for hard to keep up with.

“I thought it was cool and interesting to see a movie like that from a first-person point-of-view, I just wish the story was a bit easier to keep up with,” said Cameron Huff, 12.

Although the movie had its mistakes, it was still a very compelling movie. The action was definitely top notch and really was the reason it peaked my interest. Overall, I liked the direction the movie was heading towards, but I feel like it is just not all the way there yet.

I give it three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

